JJ Atkins Stakes 2023 Tips, Field & Race Guide

The JJ Atkins Stakes will take place on Saturday, 10th June, 2023 at Eagle Farm.

With a big prize of $1,000,000, this Group 1 1600m event is open to 2YOs with set weight conditions.

We provide you with JJ Atkins Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

CONTENTS: Schedule | Live Stream | Bonus Bets | Tips | Nominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners

JJ Atkins Stakes 2023 Schedule

Date June 10
Track Eagle Farm Racecourse
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $1,000,000
Age 2YO

JJ Atkins Stakes Live Stream

TAB customers are able to live stream the 2023 JJ Atkins Stakes free of charge courtesy of Sky Racing vision.

You can watch the action from your mobile device or desktop for every Australian thoroughbred, greyhound and harness race live.

TAB offers Sky Racing 1, Sky Racing 2 and Sky Thoroughbred Central on their racing live streaming service.

T&Cs Apply. Vision available for all three Sky Racing channels. Data charges may apply.

Watch the 2023 JJ Atkins Stakes with TAB.

JJ Atkins Stakes Tips

When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 JJ Atkins (1400m) at Eagle Farm, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the JJ Atkins Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2023 tips to help you back the winner.

Our team of expert tipsters will provide 2023 JJ Atkins Stakes tips and selections once the final field has been declared.

READ: 2022 JJ Atkins Tips & Preview

JJ Atkins Stakes Nominations

Nominations for the 2023 JJ Atkins Stakes takes place at 11:00am on May 2, 2023 and 11:00am on June 1st.

JJ Atkins Stakes Field & Barrier Draw

The final field and barrier draw for the 2023 JJ Atkins Stakes will be released at 9:00am June 6, 2023.

This page will be updated following the barrier draw.

2022 JJ Atkins Results & Replay

Finish Horse Jockey Trainer Barrier Weight SP
1 SHEEZA BELTER William Pike Peter & Paul Snowden 9 55kg $4.20
James McDonald
Chris Waller 8 57kg $5.50
3 BROSNAN Brenton Avdulla Gerald Ryan & Sterling Alexiou 7 57kg $26
4 SHARP ’N’ SMART (NZ) Hugh Bowman Graeme & Deborah Rogerson 5 57kg $3.90F
5 BASQUIAT Tim Clark Chris Waller 1 57kg $18
6 LETHAL THOUGHTS John Allen Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 16 57kg $26
7 RINGMASTER Tommy Berry Michael Freedman 10 57kg $41
8 FEARLESS KNIGHT Ryan Maloney Kacy Fogden 2 57kg $101
9 TYRESA Larry Cassidy Kelly Schweida 4 55kg $101
10 TWIN STARS Kerrin McEvoy Tony & Calvin McEvoy 6 57kg $20
11 BRERETON Ms Jamie Kah Peter G Moody 14 57kg $10
12 OWEN COUNTY Keagan Latham John Sargent 15 57kg $11
13 HEROIC SON Mark Du Plessis Peter & Will Hulbert 12 57kg $151
14 COCOBREW EXPRESS Luke Tarrant Tom Button 13 57kg $201
15 MISHANI SPARTAN Ben Thompson Les Ross 11 57kg $91
16 WEST OF AFRICA Sam Clipperton Annabel Neasham 3 57kg $61
17 GREEN SHADOWS Nash Rawiller Gerald Ryan & Sterling Alexiou 17 57kg $26


See more JJ Atkins Stakes results and replays here.

JJ Atkins Stakes Odds

Leading bookmakers LadbrokesNedsbet365 & Palmerbet have the latest 2023 JJ Atkins Stakes betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the JJ Atkins Stakes betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.

JJ Atkins Stakes History

One of three Group 1 features held on Stradbroke Handicap Day, the JJ Atkins is a set-weights race for two-year-olds.

Other races on Brisbane’s finest day of racing include the $1.5 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m), Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m), Group 2 Brisbane Cup (2400m), Group 2 Queensland Guineas (1600m) and the Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes (1400m).

Common won the inaugural JJ Atkins in 1893 when the race was known as the Claret Stakes and run over a distance of six furlongs (approximately 1200m) as a Principal race.

In 1999 the race was renamed the TJ Smith Stakes in honour of Thomas John Smith (father of Gai Waterhouse) who won 33 trainers premierships, but changed to the JJ Atkins in 2013.

With $600,000 in prizemoney the JJ Atkins attracts the state’s best juvenile sprinter/milers, and is fast becoming one of the most highly-regarded races on the Queensland racing calendar with a number of top juveniles from the event going on to capture Group 1 races such as the Coolmore Stud Stakes, Caulfield Guineas and Newmarket Handicap later in their careers.

Notable winners of the race include Karunda (1957), Le Strom (1960), Femme Fatale (1972), Luskin Star (1977), Flotilla (1987), Zeditave (1988), Prince Salieri (1989), Sight Chance (1992), Mahogany (1993), Just A Printer (1994), Anthems (1996), Al Mansour (1997), Mossman (1998), Freemason (1999), Show A Heart (2000), Juanmo (2001), Lovely Jubly (2002), Darci Brahma (2005), Reigning To Win (2006), Sizzling (2012), Press Statement (2015) and The Autumn Sun (2018).

JJ Atkins Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2022 Sheeza Belter
2021 Converge
2020 Rothfire
2019 Prince Fawaz
2018 The Autumn Sun
2017 Capital Gain
2016 Sacred Elixir
2015 Press Statement
2014 Almalad
2013 Romantic Touch
2012 Sizzling
2011 Benfica
2010 Pressday
2009 Linky Dink
2008 Rockdale
2007 Apercu
2006 Reigning To Win
2005 Darci Brahma
2004 Outback Prince
2003 Picaday
2002 Lovely Jubly
2001 Juanmo
2000 Show A Heart

Top 5 JJ Atkins Stakes Winners

Click here to see our Top 5 JJ Atkins Stakes Winners

JJ Atkins Bonus Bets

With the country’s leading bookmakers offering horse racing promotions and bonus bets every day of the week, you can get more bang for your buck.

The offers really ramp up on Saturday covering most races with promos such as Double Your WinningsCash Back and Bonus Bet Back for finishing 2nd, 3rd and even 4th, there are plenty of promos to sink your teeth into.

Racingbase hunts down all the daily bookmaker promos and bonus bets and displays them on one page with their T&C’s so you can see what is on offer.

Free Eagle Farm Betting Tips

Follow the link to find our free Eagle Farm race tips and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Eagle Farm tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.