Top 5 George Main Stakes Winners


The George Main Stakes (1600m) is one of the big mile races at Randwick and has been won by some champion gallopers over the years. See who made our list of top 5 George Main Stakes winners since 2000.

In modern times, the feature race has been taken out by some outstanding gallopers.

Top 5 George Main Stakes winners.


1. WINX (2016,17,18)

Chris Waller’s champion mare is the obvious selection for top spot when it comes to George Main Stakes winners since 2000m and claimed the Randwick feature on three occasions in 2016, 2016 and 2018 triumph. She would retire with 37 wins from 43 starts and is best known for her streak of 33 wins as she matured into the champion that we remember her for.

2. LONHRO (2003)

It is pretty hard to split some of the others in selecting the exacta behind Winx but Lonhro gets the nod for mine. The flashy black horse won an amazing 26 races from 35 starts, including 11 Group 1’s and claimed the George Main Stakes in 2003. He was a top performer in an era that also featured the likes of Sunline and Northerly. He was too good for Grand Armee in the 2003 version of this race. The crowd favourite split his time between Melbourne and Sydney, picking up his first feature in the 2001 Caulfield Guineas (1600m) and his last in the 2004 Australian Cup (2000m).

3. MORE JOYOUS (2010)

More Joyous was a gun mare from the Gai Waterhouse stable and claimed this race in 2010. She was a versatile type that carried big weights to victory, most notably in the 2012 Doncaster with 57.5kg, just shy of the 58kg that another champion mare, Sunline carted to victory in 2002. The dominant mare of her generation, More Joyous won eight Group 1 races and was the Champion Middle Distance Racehorse in 2012.

4. GRAND ARMEE (2004)

After missing out behind Lonhro in 2003, Grand Armee went one better in 2004. He was a typically tough Gai Waterhouse horse that would make his own luck on the speed and won or placed in 26 of his 31 starts before a respiratory problem caused him to retire prematurely as he was about to embark on a spring campaign as a six-year-old.

5. DEFIER (2002)

One of the most honest gallopers of his generation, Defier claimed Group 1 success on three occasions and twice finished runner-up in the Cox Plate (2040m) with those efforts coming behind Northerly in 2002 and Fields Of Omagh in 2003. His other major Group 1 wins came in the 2002 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m) and the 2004 Doomben Cup (2000m).



Follow the link to find our free Randwick horse racing tips and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Randwick tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.