Golden Rose Winning Trends

Adam Cusworth Adam Cusworth
Golden Rose trends


The Golden Rose (1400m) is a Group 1 race at Rosehill that has been taken out by some big names in the past and we take a look at the Golden Rose winning trends.

One of the key races on the calendar for the three-year-olds, the Golden Rose carries prizemoney of $1 million. Bivouac claimed the race in 2019, while The Autumn Sun, Trapeze Artist, Astern and Exosphere are other recent winners.

It has been run over the 1400m distance since 2003 and has carried Group 1 status since 2009. Using the results since 2000 as a guide, we see that the Golden Rose winning trends points to the following.

For fans of Rothfire, who has been installed as the $1.95 favourite after the barrier draw, it has been a bit of mixed one for favourite backers.

Bivouac, Astern, Exosphere, Denman (2009) and Duporth (2008) saluted as favourites but Trapeze Artist ($41), Epaulette ($13) and In Top Swing ($19 in 2003) are among some of those to have won at a decent price.

Prior to Bivouac, Graff came 3rd as a $2.90 in 2018, as did Menari, who started as a $2.70 popular elect in 2017. The average price of the winning horses since the year 2000 is $9.10.

Behind Rothfire in the market is North Pacific at $5.50, while Ole Kirk is at $8.50. Peltzer is at $10, while Mamaragan ($14) and King’s Legacy ($15) head the rest of the field at $14

Rothfire took out the recent Run To The Rose (1200m) in brilliant fashion from Ole Kirk and North Pacific.

Six of the past eight winners have come out of the Run To The Rose with Bivouac, Astern, Exosphere and Hallowed Crown winning both. Bivouac, Astern and Exosphere raced under the Godolphin banner but that stable is without a runner this year.

The 2018 winner, The Autumn Sun, was trained by Chris Waller, who has won the Golden Rose twice. His other winner was Zoustar back in 2013. He saddles up Global Quest and Sauvestre this year.

Team Hawkes also take two key runners into the race and they are Ole Kirk and North Pacific. John Hawkes won with Paratroopers back in 2005.

Peter Snowden has trained three winners since 2000 and they were Forensics, Denman and Epaulette. Teaming up with his son, Paul, he has King’s Legacy this year.

The Queensland trainer, Rob Heathcote, takes Rothfire into the race. The past nine winners have all been prepared in NSW. We go back to 2010 when the Victorian, Toorak Toff, saluted in the Golden Rose.

The most successful jockey in the race has been Hugh Bowman with wins aboard, Bivouac, In Top Swing (2003), Doonan (2004), Duporth (2008) and Hallowed Crown (2014).

Bowman rides King’s Legacy this year. Kerrin McEvoy and James McDonald are other multiple winners. McEvoy is aboard Peltzer, while McDonald steers North Pacific.
When looking at the barrier draw for the contenders, keep in mind that winners have been able to come from a variety of position’s in this race. Seven of the past eight winners have drawn in the outermost three barriers. This year, Yardstick, Rothfire and King’s Legacy fill those spots.

Finally, it is interesting to note that Rothfire is the only gelding in this race. The rest of the contenders are colts. There are no fillies. The Golden Rose has been a bit of a stallion making race and the past eight winners have all been colts. Manawanui was the last gelding to win. Since 2000, 12 winners have been colts, five have been geldings and there have been two fillies.

Summary based on Golden Rose winning trends:

The Run To The Rose is the key lead up and of the eight winners to have scored in that race, six have gone on to win here. While Rothfire is a bit of a visitor, he is hard to knock.



Click the link to find our free Rosehill racing tips and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Rosehill tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.

Current Offers