Top 5 Memsie Stakes Winners

Memsie Stakes winners


The Memsie Stakes (1400m) is the first Group 1 race of the Melbourne spring and has been won by some champion gallopers over the years. See who made our list of top 5 Memsie Stakes winners since 2000.

In modern times, the feature race has been taken out by some outstanding gallopers.


1. SO YOU THINK 2010

The last true champion for the late trainer, Bart Cummings, So You Think exhilarated with his dominance in Australia in 2009 and 2010. He burst onto the scene with a dominant win in the 2009 Cox Plate and was off for nearly a year before signalling what was to come by resuming with a strong win in the 2010 Memsie Stakes. He was a superstar that spring, going on to win a second Cox Plate before running a brave 3rd in the Melbourne Cup (3200m). He would then head to the Aiden O’Brien stables in Ireland, defeating some of the best on the world stage by winning a further five Group 1 races, taking his tally to 10 overall.



Maybe Diva is better known for her exploits in the Melbourne Cup (3200m), winning the race that stops the nation on three occasions, a record that is unlikely to be broken. The champion that became a legend also became more than just a stayer in the spring of 2005, claiming the Memsie, Turnbull Stakes (2000m) and Cox Plate (2040m) en route to her third win in the big one. She retired as the highest stakes earner in Australia’s racing history and is also well known for her association with Glen Boss but it was Steven King that rode her in the Memsie in 2005.


3. SUNLINE 2000 & 2001

One of the best ever to come out of New Zealand, Sunline had an extraordinary record, winning 32 of 48 career starts. The Trevor and Stephen McKee-trained mare would often settle in the lead before upping the ante at the business end, breaking those that would assume the chasing role. She won the Memsie Stakes (1400m) on two occasions and was also a multiple winner of the Cox Plate (2040m), Doncaster Mile (1600m), Coolmore Classic (1500m), Waikato Sprint (1400m) and the All Aged Stakes (1400m) while she took out a stirring edition of the Hong Kong Mile (1600m) in the year 2000.



The Ross McDonald-trained galloper had an amazing time of it in 2007 and 2008, winning race after race on his way to becoming the Australian Horse of the Year. He equalled Kingston Town’s record for most Group 1 wins in a single season and returned at four to take out the Memsie Stakes, Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) and the Underwood Stakes (1800m) before injury cut him down.


5. EL SEGUNDO 2006

El Segundo just pips Atlantic Jewel for a spot in the top five on the back of his superior longevity. He announced himself as a serious horse with a win in the Caulfield Stakes (2000m) before missing out in the Caulfield Cup (2400m) that year. He won the Memsie in 2006 and missed out in agonising fashion in the Cox Plate behind Fields Of Omah that year before returning in 2007, making amends by taking out the weight-for-age championship. He retired with 12 wins from 35 starts with six of those wins coming at the highest level.



Follow the link to find our free racing tips for Caulfield and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Caulfield tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.