TJ Smith Stakes Barrier Draw Stats & Info

Chautauqua (PA Images)

The Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) barrier draw and final field will be declared on Tuesday, April 01, 2025.

This page will be updated following the barrier draw.

TJ Smith Stakes Nominations – The Next Sprinting Champion

Each year, the TJ Smith Stakes captivates racing fans as the best sprinters compete over 1200m at Royal Randwick on Day 1 of The Championships.

The nominations for the 2025 TJ Smith Stakes will take place at 9:00am on February 11, 2025.


TJ Smith Stakes Barrier Draw – When Is The Final Field Revealed?

The final field and barrier draw for the TJ Smith Stakes will be revealed on Tuesday, April 01, 2025.

Many superstars or champions have captured the TJ Smith Stakes over the years and the recent honour roll alone is impressive. Unbeaten champion Black Caviar won the race in 2011 and 2013 while “The Grey Flash” Chautauqua won three-straight TJ Smith Stakes between 2015-2017.

An emerging champion, Nature Strip, has won back-to-back TJ Smith Stakes in 2020 and 2021.


TJ Smith Stakes Barrier Statistics – Winners From The Past 20 Years

Year Horse Barrier Weight
2024 Chain Of Lightning 2 56.5kg
2023 I Wish I Win 12 58.5kg
2022 Nature Strip 11 58.5kg
2021 Nature Strip 4 58.5kg
2020 Nature Strip 1 58.5kg
2019 Santa Ana Lane 8 58.5kg
2018 Trapeze Artist 8 56.5kg
2017 Chautauqua 11 58.5kg
2016 Chautauqua 11 58.5kg
2015 Chautauqua 8 58.5kg
2014 Lankan Rupee 1 58.5kg
2013 Black Caviar 1 56.5kg
2012 Master Of Design 4 58.5kg
2011 Black Caviar 5 56.5kg
2010 Melito 7 54.5kg
2009 Takeover Target 6 58.5kg
2008 Apache Cat 5 58.5kg
2007 Bentley Biscuit 7 58.5kg
2006 Red Oog 4 57.5kg
2005 Shamekha 2 55kg


Is There A Draw Bias in the TJ Smith Stakes?

There does not appear to be a barrier draw bias in the TJ Smith Stakes which was first run in 1997 as the Endeavour Stakes before a quick name change to honour legendary trainer TJ Smith.

Barrier five has produced the most winners with six horses jumping from that gate.

An interesting observation is that barrier one which has had three winners boasts an impressive list of names. Black Caviar, Lankan Rupee and Nature Strip have all won from the inside draw.


Most Successful TJ Smith Stakes Barriers

Barrier Wins
5 6
11 5
1 3
4 3
8 3

Last updated for 2024 TJ Smith Stakes Results

Please note that barrier statistics only include races from 1996 onwards.



Follow the link to find our free Randwick tips today and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Randwick tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.