Top 5 CF Orr Stakes Winners

Orr Stakes winners


The CF Orr Stakes (1400m) is the first Group 1 race in Australia for the calendar year and has been won by some champion gallopers over the years. See who made our list of top 5 CF Orr Stakes winners since 2000.

In modern times, the feature race has been taken out by some outstanding gallopers.

Top 5 CF Orr Stakes winners.

1. BLACK CAVIAR (2012)

The only time Black Caviar stepped out above 1200m was in the 2012 CF Orr Stakes and like the majority of her 25 wins, she did it in cruise control that day, defeating Southern Speed by three lengths as a $1.05 favourite. We will never know how she would have gone over even longer trips than that but the way she did it that day would have suggested that 1600m and even 2000m races were attainable. But she was kept to shorter trips and won the Lightning Stakes (1000m) on the one week back up after her Orr win before heading overseas that year and famously winning at Royal Ascot. The mighty mare finished unbeaten in her 25 race starts, 15 of which came at Group 1 level.

2. LONHRO (2004)

A favourite of Australian racing fans, Lonhro was dynamite in anything from 1400m to 1600m and pipped Vocabulary in the CF Orr Stakes in his final campaign, which is well remembered for his amazing win at Flemington in the Australian Cup (2000m). The son of Octagonal had confirmed himself as a serious racehorse in 2001 with a last to first finish in the 2001 edition of the Caulfield Guineas and won an amazing 26 races from 35 starts, including 11 Group 1’s. He was a top performer in an era that also featured the likes of Sunline and Northerly and split his time between Melbourne and Sydney.

3. TYPHOON TRACY (2010, 2011)

Typhoon Tracy was the stable star for Peter Moody before Black Caviar arrived on the scene and raced just 16 times in her career for 10 wins. Six of those came at the highest level and she loved Caulfield, picking up the Orr Stakes on two occasions as well as the Futurity Stakes (1400m). The daughter of Red Ransom absolutely destroyed them in the 2009 Myer Classic at Flemington in 2009 and went on to gain Horse Of The Year honours in 2010.

4. ELVSTROEM (2005)

Elvstroem shot to prominence in 2003 by winning the Victoria Derby and unlike a number of runners that have taken out that race, ‘Elvis’, as he was affectionately known, would go on with the job as an older horse. The Tony Vasil-trained galloper won the Caulfield Cup (2400m) the following year, knocking over Makybe Diva before returning in the autumn of 2005 and winning this race. He then performed well against the worlds best, picking up the Group 1 Dubai Duty Free Stakes (1800m) before placing in another couple of Group 1 races in Europe.

5. EL SEGUNDO (2007)

The Colin Little-trained galloper worked through the grades in 2005 and was off the scene for a large part of 2006 before developing into one of the best weight-for-age gallopers in the nation. He missed out in what can only be described as a tight photo finish in the 2006 Cox Plate before returning in 2007 and winning the CF Orr Stakes in the autumn. He righted a few wrongs for those that backed him in the 2006 Cox Plate by winning the weight-for-age championship at the Valley in 2007 and retired with 12 wins from 35 starts, with four of those victories coming at Group 1 level.



Follow the link to find our free Caulfield tips today and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Caulfield tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.

Current Offers