Top 5 Kingsford Smith Cup winners

Kingsford Smith Cup winners


The Kingsford Smith Cup (1300m) is a Group 1 race for the sprinters in Brisbane and has been won by some champion gallopers over the years. See who made our list of top 5 Kingsford Smith Cup winners since 2000.

In modern times, the feature race has been taken out by some outstanding gallopers.

Top 5 Kingsford Smith Cup winners.

1. BLACK CAVIAR (2011)

Black Caviar took out the Kingsford Smith Cup when it was known as the BTC Cup and raced over the 1200m. A winner of all of her 25 starts, she defeated her long time rival, Hay List, in 2011 by two lengths in what was her only race in Queensland. The BTC Cup win came in the middle of her career at start 13, just after her stunning victory in the TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) at Randwick earlier on that autumn.

2. APACHE CAT (2008)

The popular Apache Cat loved racing in Queensland and ventured to Brisbane for four starts at Doomben in 2007 and 2008, winning on three occasions. His win in this race came in 2008 and he held on as a $1.30 chance before going on to win the Doomben 10000 at his next start. The baldy faced galloper retired with eight victories at Group 1 level and claimed the Australian Guineas early in his career before developing into a top sprinter.

3. FALVELON (2000 & 2003)

A two-time winner of this race, Falvelon was the dominant sprinter in Queensland in the early 2000s and his wins in this race were spaced apart. His first came ahead of Mr Innocent in 2000 and followed his placings in the three Melbourne autumn sprinting majors, the Lightning Stakes (1000m), Oakleigh Plate (1100m) and Newmarket Handicap (1200m). A two-time winner of the Hong Kong Sprint (1000m) at Sha Tin, the last of his 15 victories came in the 2003 edition of this race.

4. SPARK OF LIFE (2005)

SPARK OF LIFE was a top sprinter from the Allan Denham stable in the mid 2000s and took out the BTC Cup in 2005. He was a multiple Group 1 winner that scored in Queensland, New South Wales and Victoria. He had an affinity for the Moonee Valley circuit, picking up the Manikato Stakes (1200m) on two occasions.

5. SEA SIREN (2012)

Sea Siren was a quality mare from the John O’Shea camp that won the BTC Cup in 2012 ahead of Scenic Blast and Beaded. She held that form to take out the Doomben 10000 a fortnight later against the mighty Buffering. A winner of seven of her 17 starts, she retired with close to $2 million in prizemoney.

Current Offers