Melbourne Cup Order of Entry

Melbourne Cup Order of Entry Verry Elleegant (PA Images)

Melbourne Cup Order Of Entry

The Melbourne Cup Order of Entry determines which 24 horses will gain a start in the $7.75 million Lexus Melbourne Cup (3200m) held at Flemington on Tuesday, November 2.

On the Saturday prior to the running of the Melbourne Cup, the final field and barrier draw is revealed.

2021 Order Of Entry

A total of 78 horses remains in contention to compete in ‘the race that stops a nation.’

Some horses will gain the chance to win a ballot exempt race which automatically qualifies them for the race whilst others will incur a weight penalty which may be enough to move them up the order of entry into the top 24 to gain a start.

See below for the latest Melbourne Cup Order of Entry.

Melbourne Cup 2021 Order of Entry

No.  Horse Trainer Ballot Weight Penalty
1 REALM OF FLOWERS Anthony & Sam Freedman 1 51kg
2 GRAND PROMENADE (GB) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 2 52kg 1.0kg
3 VERRY ELLEEGANT (NZ) Chris Waller 3 57kg
4 TWILIGHT PAYMENT (IRE) Joseph O’Brien 4 58kg
5 SIR DRAGONET (IRE) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 5 57.5kg
6 GOLD TRIP (FR) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 6 57kg
7 SPANISH MISSION (USA) Andrew Balding 7 57kg
8 EXPLOSIVE JACK (NZ) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 8 54kg
9 INCENTIVISE Peter G Moody 9 55.5kg
10 MONTEFILIA David Payne 10 52kg 1.0kg
11 COLETTE James Cummings 11 53.5kg
12 JOHNNY GET ANGRY (NZ) Denis Pagan 12 53kg
13 HUNGRY HEART Chris Waller 13 51.5kg
14 AWAY HE GOES (IRE) Ismail Mohammed 14 54.5kg
15 THE CHOSEN ONE (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman 15 54kg
16 DUAIS Edward Cummings 16 51kg
17 SPIRIT RIDGE (GB) Mark Newnham 17 54kg
18 SELINO (GB) Chris Waller 18 53.5kg
19 MIAMI BOUND (NZ) Danny O’Brien 19 52kg
20 MIRAGE DANCER (GB) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 20 53.5kg
21 YOUNG WERTHER (NZ) Danny O’Brien 21 52kg
22 SHE’S IDEEL Bjorn Baker 22 52kg
23 OCEAN BILLY (NZ) Chris Waller 23 53.5kg
24 ANGEL OF TRUTH Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 24 53.5kg
25 QUICK THINKER Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman 25 53kg
26 PERSAN Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 26 53kg
27 SOUND (GER) Michael Moroney 27 53kg
28 KNIGHTS ORDER (IRE) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 28 53kg
29 KING OF LEOGRANCE (FR) Robert Hickmott 29 53kg
30 DAWN PATROL (IRE) Robert Hickmott 30 53kg
31 TRALEE ROSE (NZ) Symon Wilde 31 51kg
32 CARIF Peter & Paul Snowden 32 52.5kg
33 ATTORNEY (FR) Matthew Smith 33 52.5kg
34 LE DON DE VIE (GB) Anthony & Sam Freedman 34 52.5kg
35 MOUNT POPA (IRE) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 35 52.5kg
36 CHAPADA Michael Moroney 36 52.5kg
37 PONDUS (GB) Robert Hickmott 37 52.5kg
38 DELPHI (IRE) Anthony & Sam Freedman 38 52.5kg
39 DASHING WILLOUGHBY (GB) Chris Waller 39 52.5kg
40 PORT GUILLAUME (FR) Ben & JD Hayes 40 52kg
41 MASTER OF WINE (GER) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 41 52.5kg
42 CHARMS STAR (NZ) Chris Waller 42 50kg
43 FUTURE SCORE (IRE) Matt Cumani 43 51.5kg
44 FUN FACT Bjorn Baker 44 51.5kg
45 SHERWOOD FOREST Tony Pike 45 51kg
46 GOOD IDEA Phillip Stokes 46 51kg
47 SIR LUCAN (IRE) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 47 50kg
48 MOSH MUSIC Archie Alexander 48 50kg
49 YOUNG RASCAL (FR) Richard & Michael Freedman 49 50.5kg
50 HARPO MARX (IRE) Bjorn Baker 50 50.5kg
51 AKTAU (GB) Michael Moroney 51 50kg
52 GREAT HOUSE (IRE) Chris Waller 52 50kg
53 HIGH EMOCEAN (NZ) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 53 50kg
54 SWEET THOMAS (GER) Matthew Smith 54 50kg
55 LONG ARM (IRE) Peter Gelagotis 55 50kg
56 ZEYREK (FR) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 56 50kg
57 BARADE (FR) Archie Alexander 57 50kg
58 BUCKHURST (IRE) Robert Hickmott 58 54kg
59 BEAUDEN (NZ) Graeme Rogerson 59 53.5kg
60 AMADE (IRE) Phillip Stokes 60 52.5kg
61 DEFIBRILLATE (NZ) Patrick Payne 61 52kg
62 IRISH FLAME (NZ) Brett Scott 62 51.5kg
63 THE GOOD FIGHT (NZ) Michael Moroney 63 50.5kg
64 CONSTANTINOPLE (IRE) Aaron Purcell 64= 50kg
65 EMISSARY (GB) Michael Moroney 64= 50kg
66 FLOATING ARTIST (GB) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 64= 50kg
67 HASTA LA WAR Sue Murphy 64= 50kg
68 KILLOURNEY (IRE) Paul Preusker 64= 50kg
69 KING’S CHARISMA (IRE) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 64= 50kg
70 LUNCIES (GB) Kris Lees 64= 50kg
71 MANKAYAN (IRE) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 64= 50kg
72 NEVER LISTEN John Ramsey 64= 50kg
73 PESTO (GB) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 64= 50kg
74 ROSTROPOVICH (IRE) Ben & JD Hayes 64= 50kg
75 SOUS LES NUAGES (IRE) Matt Cumani 64= 50kg
76 TOKEN SPIRIT Robbie Griffiths & Mathew de Kock 64= 50kg
77 TOORADIN Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 64= 50kg
78 FORGOT YOU (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 64= 49kg

When is the Melbourne Cup Order of Entry first released?

The Order of Entry for the 2021 Melbourne Cup was released in September 2021.

What does Order of Entry mean?

The Melbourne Cup Order of Entry is a list like a nominations or weights list that ranks where horses sit in relation to gaining a start in the race. This order is known as the ballot order.

Ballot exempt races will gain a horse automatic entry into the race. Examples of this include the Cox Plate, Caulfield Cup and Lexus Stakes.

What are the odds for the Melbourne Cup?

See the latest Melbourne Cup 2021 odds by clicking here.


Sign Up to receive exclusive Tips and Offers

A valid email is required.

Invalid e-mail.

Yes I am over 18.
Yes, I would like to receive email updates on exciting offers from For more info on how we and our partners process your data, see Privacy and Cookie Policies.

*All emails include an unsubscribe link, where you can opt out any time. *Please see our privacy and cookies policy..

Sign Up to receive exclusive Tips and Offers

Newsletter error