Top 5 The Galaxy Winners

Adam Cusworth Adam Cusworth
The Galaxy winners


The Galaxy (1100m) is a Group 1 Handicap for the sprinters and has been won by some champion gallopers over the years. See who made our list of top 5 The Galaxy winners since 1990.

In modern times, the feature race has been taken out by some outstanding gallopers.

Top 5 The Galaxy winners.

1. SCHILLACI (1992)

The champion grey was one of the stars for the all-conquering Lee Freedman stable in the early 1990’s and won the Galaxy in 1992. At that stage of his career he had raced just eight times for six wins with four of those coming in Group 1 company. He took the racing scene by storm in the autumn that year by sweeping through the major Melbourne sprints in the Lightning Stakes (1000m), Oakleigh Plate (1100m) and the Newmarket Handicap (1200m). Niggling injuries curtailed his brilliance somewhat as an older horse but he did manage to collect a further four Group 1 races until his retirement in 1995, departing the scene with 16 wins from a total of 35 starts.

2. NATURE STRIP (2019)

One of the gun sprinters in recent times, Nature Strip changed trainers four times before landing in the Chris Waller stables in 2019 and his first Group 1 victory came on a Heavy track in the Galaxy in 2019. On that occasion, he led all the way before holding on from Pierata. He won the Moir Stakes (1000m) and the VRC Sprint Classic (1200m) later that year and devastated his rivals in the 2020 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m).

3. MR TIZ (1991)

A gun galloper in the early 1990s from New Zealand, Mr Tiz went around in the Galaxy back in 1991 and came from a seemingly impossible position to win. His racing style captivated fans but it was his performances in his homeland where he made a name for himself, picking up the Railway Stakes (1200m) on three occasions and the Telegraph Handicap (1200m) on two occasions. He had further Group 1 success by taking out the Waikato Sprint (1400m).

4. IN HER TIME (2018)

Another to have raced in more recent times, In Her Time was the 2018 Galaxy winner, knocking over English by just under a length. At that stage of her career she was trained by Ben Smith and she went close to Group 1 success the previous year when a narrow runner-up to Impending in the Stradbroke (1350m) at Doomben. After transferring to the Kris Lees stable she landed the Lightning Stakes (1000m) in 2019 at Flemington.

5. SPARK OF LIFE (2004)

A quality sprinter, the Allan Denham-trained Spark Of Life was the Galaxy winner in 2004, defeating Taikun. He returned in the spring and won three on the trot, scorching around the Moonee Valley circuit in 2004 to pick up more Group 1 success in the Manikato Stakes (1200m) before again winning that race in 2005.



Click the link to find our free Rosehill tips for Saturday. Our Rosehill tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.

Current Offers