Turnbull Stakes History

Turnbull Stakes trends


The Turnbull Stakes is a Group 1 race for horses four years old and upwards and is one of the early Spring Carnival features.

Run over 2000 metres, it is a set weights with penalties event and carries prizemoney of $500,000. It was upgraded from a Group 2 event in 2005.

Run at Flemington in early October, it is a major lead-up race for horses who have the Group 1 Cox Plate and the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup in their sights.

Although rated below the glamour of the Cups and Cox Plate, the Turnbull Stakes remains a highly prestigious affair with many notable champions of the turf winning the event on their way to further Spring Carnival success.

In recent years it has produced numerous winners of the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup as well as the Cox Plate.

Back in 2004, Elvstroem completed the Turnbull Stakes-Caulfield Cup double, while in 2005 Makybe Diva won the Turnbull Stakes-Melbourne Cup double. Winx, meanwhile, won the 2017 Turnbull Stakes en route to winning the Cox Plate for the third year in a row.

Other notable winners of the Turnbull Stakes include Zipping (2010), Northerly (2002), Sunline (2001), Let’s Elope (1991) and back to Dulcify (1979), Leilani (1974), Galilee (1968), Rising Fast (1954), Bernborough (1946) and Ajax who won it twice (1938 & 1940).



Follow the link to find our free Flemington race tips today and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Flemington tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.