Top 5 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Winners

Underwood Stakes Trends


The Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) is a Group 1 race that is held at Caulfield early on during the Melbourne spring and has been won by some champion gallopers over the years. See who made our list of top 5 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winners since 1990.

In modern times, the feature race has been taken out by some outstanding gallopers.

Top 5 Rupert Clarke Stakes winners.


1. TESTA ROSSA (1999 & 2000)

A Group 1 winner at the ages of two, three and four, Testa Rossa won this race as a three-year-old before missing out in a stirring edition of the Caulfield Guineas (1600m) in 1999 behind Redoute’s Choice. He would come back to this race with top weight in 2000 winning in narrow fashion ahead of Camarena before capturing the Emirates Stakes (1600m) that year.


2. SANTA ANA LANE (2017)

A relatively recent winner of the Rupert Clarke that makes this list is Santa Ana Lane, who claimed victory in 2017, his first Group 1 triumph. He would then go on to claim the Goodwood (1200m) in Adelaide and Stradbroke (1400m) in Brisbane in 2018 with further feature wins coming in the VRC Classic (1200m) and T.J.Smith Stakes (1200m), while just missing out in the 2019 Everest (1200m) behind Yes Yes Yes.


The Freedman galloper only appeared on the track on eight occasions with injury curtailing a brilliant career. He dazzled with three wins at the highest level and claimed this race in 1996. He has gone on to become one of the best sires with some of his successful progeny including Chautauqua and Alinghi.


Another that would turn out to be a successful sire, Exceed And Excel won the Rupert Clarke when it was known as the Dubai Racing Club Cup in 2003. The Tim Martin-trained galloper won seven of 12 career starts and was an exciting juvenile before closing out his career with a win in the 2004 Newmarket Handicap (1200m).


5. REGAL ROLLER (2004).

Regal Roller was a bold front runner that had a remarkable record at Caulfield. He won four on the trot at the venue in the spring of 2004 with those wins coming in early feature races, the Liston Stakes (1400m), Memsie (1400m), Rupert Clarke, and the Torah Handicap (1600m). He placed 5th in the Cox Plate behind Savabeel that year and retired with 12 wins from 38 starts with eight of his wins coming at Caulfield.



Follow the link to find our best bets for Caulfield and free race tips for each and every meeting. Our Caulfield tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.