South Australian Derby Barrier Draw Stats & Info

South Australian Derby Barrier Draw Leicester (PA Images)

South Australian Derby Barrier Draw Stats & Information

The Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m) barrier draw and final field will be declared on Tuesday, May 01, 2022. 

2022 South Australian Derby field and barrier draw:

No. Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier  Weight
1 ALEGRON James Cummings Damien Oliver 3 56.5kg
2 TEEWATERS Archie Alexander Declan Bates 1 56.5kg
3 JUNGLE MAGNATE (NZ) Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr) Mark Zahra 12 56.5kg
4 COMMANDER HARRY (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Daniel Moor 8 56.5kg
5 HARLEYMOVEN Dan Clarken & Oopy MacGillivray Ryan Hurdle 11 56.5kg
6 DETONATOR JACK (NZ) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace John Allen 15 56.5kg
7 THE NEPHEW Patrick Payne Billy Egan 4 56.5kg
8 SON OF EMPEROR Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr) Jason Holder 19 56.5kg
9 SAINT TROPEZ Lloyd Kennewell Beau Mertens 17 56.5kg
10 WATER INTO WINE Tony & Calvin McEvoy Barend Vorster 7 56.5kg
11 YAPHET Cliff Brown Ben Allen 13 56.5kg
12 KING OF PHARAOHS Roslyn Day Callan Murray 16 56.5kg
13 CLAIDHEAMH MOR Gemma Rielly Joe Bowditch 18 56.5kg
14 SEBASTIAN THE FOX Shay Keating Jake Noonan 20 56.5kg
15 PHERE THE EX Ben & JD Hayes Luke Nolen 6 56.5kg
16 LADY CHANT Brock Lewthwaite 5 54.5kg
17e TEXAS TEA (NZ) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 10 56.5kg
18e TURFIE Patrick Keane 9 56.5kg
19e BRING THE STARS Robbie Griffiths & Mathew de Kock 14 56.5kg
20e SIX FOOT SONG John Macmillan 2 56.5kg

South Australian Derby Nominations – Where It All Begins

The South Australian Derby is a 2500m staying race held at Morphettville Racecourse. It is restricted to three-year-olds only.

Nominations for the 2022 South Australian Derby will close on Monday, May 9, 2022.

South Australian Derby Barrier Draw – When, Where And How Is It Conducted?

The final field and barrier draw will be revealed on Wednesday, May 11, 2022.

These barriers are randomly determined using computer software to produce the final field for races held across Australia.

A mix of local stayers and interstate horses will compete in the South Australian Derby each year.

South Australian Derby Barrier Statistics – Winners From The Past 20 Years

Year Horse Barrier Weight
2021 Explosive Jack 10 56.5kg
2020 Russian Camelot 7 56.5kg
2019 Qafila 6 54.5kg
2018 Leicester 7 56.5kg
2017 Volatile Mix 11 56.5kg
2016 Howard Be Thy Name 6 56.5kg
2015 Delicacy 11 54.5kg
2014 Kushadasi 3 56.5kg
2013 Escado 1 56.5kg
2012 Zabeelionaire 1 56.5kg
2011 Shadows In The Sun 10 56.5kg
2010 Kidnapped 16 56.5kg
2009 Rebel Raider 5 56.5kg
2008 Zarita 11 54kg
2007 Lazer Sharp 5 56.5kg
2006 Testifiable 16 55.5kg
2005 Tails Of Triomphe 16 55.5kg
2004 Hard To Get 2 55.5kg
2003 Mummify 4 55.5kg
2002 Pantani 10 55.5kg

Is There A Draw Bias in the South Australian Derby?

The South Australian Derby is a very fair race when it comes to the barrier draw with no bias existing in the race.

Horses have been able to win from barriers one through to 16 in the past 40 years.

The past 20 years alone shows that horses can win from any starting gate which makes it a great race to watch.

Most Successful South Australian Derby Barriers

Barrier Wins
5 5
1 4
2 4
11 4
10 3
16 3

Last updated for 2021 South Australian Derby Results

Please note that barrier statistics only include races from 1983 onwards.